wordly images

its looking like a beautiful day

Posted in Helen Jones - Wordly Images by hellyj on May 24, 2009
so throw those curtains wide
so throw those curtains wide

Drinking in the morning sun
Blinking in the morning sun
Shaking off the heavy one, heavy like a loaded gun

What made me behave that way?
Using words i never say
I can only think it must be love
oh anyway
It’s looking like a beautiful day.

Someone tell me how I feel
It;s silly wrong but vivid right
Kiss me like the final meal
Kiss me like we  die tonight

Cause holy cow i love you eyes
and only now i see the light
lying with you half awake
oh, anyway
it’s looking like a beautiful day.

When my face is chamois creased
If you think i wink I did
laugh politely and repeat
Yea, kiss me when my lips are thin.

Cause holy cow i love your eyes
and only now i see the light
yea lying with you half awake
Stumbling over what to say
well, anyway
It’s looking like a beautiful day.

So throw those curtains wide
one day like this a year’d see me right
throw those curtains wide
one day like this a year’d see me right

Elbow ‘On a Day Like This’

for JRF

Washington Square Park, NYC, Sunday May 23rd 09, 6.15am(hellyjphoto.2009.copyright)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie said, on May 30, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Hoping and wishing you many beautiful days 🙂 It’s glorious here today, and not just the weather thankfully…x

  2. Kay said, on June 13, 2009 at 3:47 am

    Finally had a night to myself with no deadlines & Tommy had to spend the night at work so I got to surf and catch up on blogs and such. LOVE this photo & entry. I wasn’t familiar with Elbow and may have to click on amazon next. Are ya’ll still in NM? Love those photos, too.

    Much love to you and Jason,
    Kay

  3. hellyj said, on June 13, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Hey Kay! thanks for stopping by! so strange as I was only just thinking about you guys as we are off to meet friends at French Roast for breakfast and the last time we were there was when we met you there!
    Definitely check out Elbow – one of my favourite bands and lovely lovely guys too. have worked with them many times (massage) over the years. Guy, singer, actually gave me one of the best endorsements after I first massaged him that I continue to use: Guy Garvey – singer with Elbow “That was bloody great…what do you want me to do? I’ll do anything…I’d rob a f***in’ bank right now if you asked me to!!” (imagine that in a broad Northern english accent! Always makes me smile 😉
    Moreover, he is an amazing poet…….check out the album ‘Cast of Thousands’ – great starting point.
    we are back in NYC til around 15th July and then its off on the road again for about 6 months…..will include W Africa. more on that as it developes.
    are you coming into ny at all anytime soon?
    hows the wee man? and the big man? 😉
    hope alls well in your world
    Big X, Hxx (and J!)

     


Leave a Reply

