wordly images

phone home

Posted in Helen Jones - Wordly Images by hellyj on December 18, 2008
whare are you?
whare are you?

What is it specifically about this time of year that prompts you more than other times to think of people who aren’t around?

I’m thinking in particular about an aunt of mine who I was very very close to when I was younger and then one day she disappeared (all due to some silly family falling out where everyone was too bloody proud to say that one simple word: sorry!). She was a great source of comfort to me when my parents parted when I was 11 years old. She introduced me to so much and helped me grow so much too. She taught me how to be strong (in retrospect, maybe too strong-headed at times!!). She seemd to totally understand me. She helped me get through the tough time that comes with your parents splitting up way back then when in our village we were only the 2nd family to have D.I.V.O.R.C.E.  over our heads. Kids at school were so cruel but how would they know how to be if it hadn’t come from hearing their parents whispering (gossiping!)about it in the first place I wonder?
Lucinda Williams ‘World Without Tears’ – ‘how would broken find the bone………….how would misery know which back door to walk through…..?’ spirngs to mind right this minute.
I’ve tried to find her a couple of times and came very close to once but then the letter got sent back as ‘no longer at this address’. I did hear that she was very ill a long time ago and the most hurtful thing is not knowing if she is still alive even. I have had the same mobile number for over 13 years which I am sure she has. Why doesn’t she call? I wonder if its because she needs to forget the family that cast  her out all those years ago – even though I was never part of that?
It will always be the unanswered question for me. But, I can hope that one day, she will get in touch when she is ready.
I do miss her though………………..
London Bridge, London (hellyjphotos 2008 Copyright)
7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. paulwchambers said, on December 19, 2008 at 8:59 am

    miss williams always seems to have a lyric to meet the moment doesn’t she?

    what is it about yorkshire villages?

    …. patience has never been my greatest virtue – particularly with matters of the heart… am sure you do miss her babe. your heart is a good one – am sure it will be honoured.

  2. helen said, on December 19, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Tell me……she is amazing. I told you I saw her earlier in the year at a relatively small gig? Spine-tingling beautiful haunting voice…..

    I’m further up North than you (remember, I’m Geordie descent) but they are just as stubborn and proud no doubt!! I really do hope she is still around to get in touch…..maybe I need to do some more detective work again? However, what if she doesn’t want to be found? 6 million $ question……..

    Hope you are feeling better lovely friend?

  3. Katie said, on December 19, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I do hope she finds you or you find her.
    Family rifts are very hard. I only got to know my grandparents in the last few years of their lives just before my children were born – recognise similar qualities – stubborn, geordie, proud, not saying sorry….
    I am sure she will treasure the same memories you do of your time together – noone forgets those, not ever, they stay on and in our hearts.
    Christmas can be such a lonely time for so many when all the images are about families and people…perhaps she is thinking of you right now

  4. hellyj said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Thanks Katie. Perhaps she is…….lovely thoughts to take out on my day with me….along with the memories 🙂

    Families are anomalies aren’t they? I would never want that distance to become between my sisters and I and I know that we all have learnt so much from the ‘errors’ that our relatives made never to let it be that way anyway. Such a waste………..blood should surely always be thicker….

    Anyhoooo…..have a great weekend!

  5. Katie said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:17 am

    you too :)… am off to catch you comment on you other post…x

  6. Katie said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:18 am

    should have said ‘your’ – should look at what I am typing!!

  7. hellyj said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Paul, by the way, thank you too……my heart is good….most of the time!! 😉 x


Leave a Reply

