wordly images

a nation of ‘no’

Posted in Helen Jones - Wordly Images by hellyj on December 12, 2008
rules of the game

rules of the game

When did we become such a nation of ‘no’s’ and ‘don’ts’? What happened to the the freedom of having fun?

What real harm can kicking a ball around, hitting a bat against a ball and letting your dog run around freely? All activities that when I was a kid, for sure, were taken for granted. These kind of rules and regulations did not exisit back then.

Would we need all these rules and regulations if we all took responsibility for ourselves? Maybe thats where the problem lies………..perhaps there are too many people out there who don’t? Point in case yesterday: walking my dog, cleaned up after him and went to put the poo-bag in the doggy-bin and as I stepped up to the bin, I felt this squelching under my shoe! Urghhhh!!!!! How can someone let their dog mess right in front of the doggy-bin and not even pick it up?! Hey, I’m not a nazi about stuff like this because if you are walking your dog in a wood for example, then there is no real need to clean up as it will bio-degrade. But, if its in a park etc, then respect the fact that kids will be playing there and someone will invariably stand in it!!!

Ooops…..I’m ranting……..but perhaps answering my own question as well. Rules are there for a reason I guess but maybe its only those of us who are ‘more aware’ abide by them? However, I do know that I like to break them now and again too……I’m off to kick a ball around the park with my dog (off the lead to-boot!) where I took the above pic!! 😉

Highbury Fields, London (hellyjphotos 2008 Copyright)
2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie said, on December 12, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Lol have fun 🙂 Perhaps we would feel better if we were asked to pick up dog poo instead of it just saying no dogs…and respect other people when playing with footballs etc…The word “no” is very controlling!
    And they complain that as a nation we are getting lazier and fatter.. although I know it’s not just this, but it doesn’t help

    Nothing to say don’t climb trees though…;)

  2. helen said, on December 13, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I completely agree! Respect is the key word here,me thinks.
    And, its true, obesity is on the expansion! 😉 Sorry, couldn’t resist!

    No, no ‘don’t climb the trees’ signs as yet! Woohooo!


Leave a Reply

