wordly images

situations not problems

Posted in Helen Jones - Wordly Images by hellyj on December 10, 2008

situations not problemsDo we realise that we limit our potential by the words that we use?

If we think ‘impossible’ then surely it follows that it is impossible?

What would you do if you weren’t afraid? I mean really, what would you do?

Start to believe, really believe, in what you want and your mind will find a way to make it happen.

You see things and you say ‘Why?’ But I dream things that never were and I say ‘Why not?'” ~ George Bernard Shaw

Do the ‘impossible’ – it’s fun!!!!

Upstate New York (hellyjphotos 2008 Copyright)

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie said, on December 10, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    So true, how often we create our own self fulfilling prophecies. There is a way to achieve almost anything we want, and dreams are important.
    I know there are some great quotes out there but I can’t think of them – they are on the tip of my tongue!!
    I do know that I want to have lived every moment I can, being true to myself and following my heart, oh and having the best fun there is to have 🙂

    You have a lovely blog here, and I love the way you think… thank you

  2. hellyj said, on December 11, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Yes, I agree. To always be able to have dreams is so important….I came across a lovely quote:
    ‘Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Appreciate your friends. Continue to learn. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.’ Mary Radmacher

    I like this alot and live my life pretty much this way.

    Thank you so much for the compliment, Katie, its just my little way of sharing thoughts, dreams…..whatever comes to mind really and whatever inspires me….even if no one gets to read the words, its my catharsis in a way. However, I’m very happy that you happenstanced on my pages 🙂 Beautiful images on your pages by the way…..I’m going to read the words when I get a chance. There is one pic from 4th Dec that looks very much like Guernsey. Is it?

  3. Katie said, on December 12, 2008 at 12:02 am

    What a fantastic quote, I like to think I live my life more or less that way too. I kind of feel that way about my blog space, it almost felt odd thinking that anyone was reading it!

    Thank you, I really do want to get out and about with my camera more, have been a little limited lately with study, thankfully which is now finished!

    Yes, it is Guernsey. I grew up here, left as soon as I could after school and returned after we had our son 12 years ago now. Where are you?

  4. hellyj said, on December 12, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I know what you mean. I think we are all kind of brave, putting the words it out there because you face honesty from totally unbiased people – strangers! Face your fears and all of that……….

    I’m looking to get a new ‘proper’ camera soon as I’m using my mobile phone at the mo so the quality is not great. What are you studying if you don’t mind me asking?

    Guernsey. I love and know that place very very well. I started going there around 1991 as I dated a local guy (who had moved off the rock by then) for around 10 years so we visited his parents often. I still get over occassionally as I have great friends there (actually, one of my best friends, Paul Brady – he has a hair salon on the front near the Tourist Info centre. He is THE best hairdresser too btw you need one! – was over last weekend for a visit). Infact, I’m sure we have mutual friends! Beautiful place to bring up a child 🙂

    I’m in London at the moment. Just spent 3 months in NYC and working towards going back at the end of Jan next year for a longer period once I get my visa sorted.

    Have a lovely weekend.

  5. Katie said, on December 12, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Oh, enjoy getting a new camera. I treated myself a while back to one and love it – would love another lens to go on it too, but it’ll just have to wait for now.

    No, I don’t mind you asking at all..
    I’ve just handed in the last of my coursework for a city and guilds, preparing to teach in the life long learning sector course.
    I’m an Accident and Emergency nurse originally but have done various other jobs. I discovered when I worked for a charity supporting bereaved children that I really enjoyed teaching and working in schools, and now have a job teaching first aid in schools. Not sure where it is leading me but it’s good fun.
    I don’t know Paul Brady personally, but I know his salon.. though I love my hairdresser too much to move at the moment!

    I have a feeling we might well have mutual friends 🙂

    What do you do? Would love to go to NYC – had planned on it a couple of years back but didn’t ever work out – was going to go over with a friend to meet up with another friend from a while ago who lives there, and explore and soak it in. Must mention it again soon come to think of it!

    I do sometimes miss London – used to live there and worked in some of the teaching hosptials, busy adrenaline filled days and nights!

    You have a lovely weekend too,
    Katie

  6. hellyj said, on December 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    I know, I can’t wait to be able to take proper ‘grown-up’ pics all the time! I sometime’s borrow my man’s point and shoot – little Lumix digi camera (now he is a proper grown up photojourno http://www.floriophoto.com and bloody good at it! so lots to learn from him me thinks 😉 ) which I love to use. The quality is 100x better than my mobile phone camera!!

    Sounds great, what you are doing work wise. I did a teacher training course about 2 years ago to teach complimentary therapies – I’m a massage therapist and nutrition advisor) but haven’t done anything with it yet. But, I will when the time is right. Also, working with bereaved children must have been a tough one. Its hard enough as an adult to lose a parent so I can hardly beging to understand how a child deals with such loss 😦

    Where did you live in London? I;ve been mainly a West-London girl since I moved downhere in 91 but over the last couple of years I lived in Hampstead Village which I loved because of the proximity to the Heath (my dog, Poe, loves it too!) and now I’m in North for the first time in Highbury. Two doors down from Boris Johnson infact!! Sounds posh but it you walk 2 mins onto Holloway Road, it really isn’t! Apparently, Holloway Road has the most CCTV cameras of any street in England!!

    Re Guernsey – if you ever want to buy some beautiful and often unusual pieces of jewellery, then pop into my lovely friend, Susann’s, shop ‘Shine’ at the bottom of town – just up from the church (opposite the old indoor market). I sound like I work for the Guernsey TB!!!

    Go to NYC! Its an amazing place! I can’t wait to get back there. Its such an easy place to get around. I spent almost every day of my 3 months there recently, cycling round everywhere. So simple to navigate because of the grid-system and one way streets and avenues. Also, they now have the lovey Hudson River Parkway that runs the length of the West side Highway. Cycling, rollarblading, skateboarding, running……..no ‘no’ this or that signs there!!! And, I suspect that you can get away with climbing trees! 😉
    Ok…..got to brave the rain and take my very patient dog out for the first time today. Its miserable out there.
    Great ‘talking’ to you Katie. Have a good weekend!

  7. Katie said, on December 13, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Ohhh Shine is one of my favourite shops for jewellery. I do silversmithing and jewellery making at night class and have done for six or seven years now, so have made a few bits for myself aswell as friends, but if I’m looking to buy then that is the first place I look – sent Rob there for my Birthday last year 🙂
    In fact Susann may well remember me from when I gave her information on our self catering chalets (we ran them till last year) and she also ordered me a ring to be handmade, which was so kind of her…

    I had a look at your mans website – will have to go back when I have more time – looks really good… I see he is in NYC – guess thats why you’re heading back there? He has quite some biography and portfolio! I like the design of his site too – Rob is an artist and we’re just getting a web site sorted for him…

    Massage and nutrition sounds great 🙂 Are you self employed doing that?
    A few years back I did an aromatherapy course and Indian head massage course – something I always wanted to learn, and I practiced a bit. I still have my couch, and who knows – one day I might get it out again, now it only gets used for the family.

    I loved my work with bereaved children but the demand was too high for me to cope with on my own and the charity weren’t really proactive in getting me help! I still see families and children I was with back then… and somehow they got through, there is a remarkable resilience born into us all that we only ever seem to draw on when we need to. Both my parents are still alive so I haven’t a clue what it feels like either really. All I know is what families and children told me.
    It did give me a very clear perspective on how I need to live my life and what is really important – in odd moments of clarity that is 🙂

    I was a South London girl.. lived in Clapham common – on Abbeville road, but the Brixton end of it. Was there till 93, working at St.Thomas and UCH mainly. Would often come up to Camden on weekends though.

    NYC sounds like somewhere I should go – and not for shopping.. but to see and experience.
    Long time since I put on my roller blades…could be good entertainment!

    If it’s any consolation it’s tipped it down here today…had hoped it would be crisp or snowing in London – some new friends of ours getting married today! oh well…

    Am off to the cinema now with my daughter – helping out at a friends birthday party means I get a trip to the cinema too!

    What kind of dog is Poe? Great name 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend, cheers,

    Katie

  8. hellyj said, on December 18, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Hi Katie..its taken me til now to figure out how to ‘approve’ your last comment! Duuhhhhhh……now I know! 😉

    Shine is great but Susann is so naughty (but lovely!) as she will say to me ‘Helly, I have a peice to show you……go on, try it on’ and she knows me well as I always end up buying it!!! Once its on, thats it!!

    Yes, Flo is quite some photographer – he’s in Somalia right now looking for pirates!. One trip that I just want him to be on that return flight from. However, in the same token, kinda envy him being out there – on the edge.

    NYC is definitely much more about the experience over the shopping. The people, the sites, sounds, smells…all of it…almost like being on a film set half the time because we have grown up with images of the city from films etc.

    Poe (short for Poetta or Poet or Mr P! – he was called that when we rescued him) is cross between a lurcher and a wolfhound but without the height. Kids often pass him in the street and call him a wolf! He’s a character and a half for sure. Will post a pic of him sometime.

    Thanks for linking me on your page. I have done the same with you if thats cool. Just looked at your latest post. Beautiful image yet again 🙂

  9. Katie said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Thats ok Helly,
    It’s a dangerous thing trying things on! Sometimes I’ll try rings on but that’s only because I know they are unlikely to fit and so I’ll have a genuine reason to be disappointed! and if they fit, well it was meant to be 😉

    I get that kinda envy.
    Will he be back for Christmas? I bet he always has incredible stories to tell when he gets back…hope he stays safe.

    I would love to see a pic – when I was growing up I always wanted a wolfhound – instead we had a lovely terrier mongrel who we rescued from the park when I was tiny and who I adored. Now I would struggle with the commitment – we have enough with the rabbits, a hamster and an elderly cat!

    Yay that is cool 🙂 thanks, and thanks for the compliment.

    Have a lovely weekend – wow that’s come around fast….

  10. hellyj said, on December 19, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Yes, he does have the most amazing stories…..he’s a very good writer too….trying to persuade him to do more on that front! Haven’t heard anything for a couple of days so I’m thinking he may well be out on the Gulf of Aden…..just waiting for that email from Djibouti tomorrow when they are due back there…..to the the place that ‘feels like a throw back from a more peaceful time’ as he put it. Can’t wait to see the pics!!!

    Will post a pic of Mr P today i think! 😉

  11. Katie said, on December 19, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Thanks for the pic of Mr P.. who is that with him in the first one?
    Hope that e mail comes through ok

    “A throw back from a more peaceful time…” glad places like that still exist

  12. Katie said, on December 24, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Happy Christmas Helly… hope it’s a good one! Katie,x

  13. Katie said, on December 31, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    meant to say feel free to use my e mail if you want – sometimes easier to chat that way 🙂 Happy New Year…hope it’s a good one ahead


Leave a Reply

