wordly images

the wisdom of trees

Posted in Helen Jones - Wordly Images by hellyj on December 4, 2008
taking stock

taking stock

There is a wonderful Tibetan proverb (thank you for the inspiration, V) that basically says that we spend so much time doing, doing, doing…..then before you know it our time here has passed like the blink of an eye.

Why are we constantly running around……or running away from is perhaps more apt? Its so important to stand still, let the water in the glass settle, for us to reflect calmly.

How can we gain wisdom otherwise?

Take note from the majestic sageness of the tree’s around you next time you are in the park. Inspirational.

Whitlow Park, Highgate, London (hellyjphotos 2008 Copyright)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie said, on December 6, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I often wonder what the trees are telling me…what they would say if they could, if they could only impart their wisdom.
    What is it that draws kids (and adults) to climb and sit in trees? Apart from a special feeling, away from the world and close to nature.

  2. hellyj said, on December 10, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    I know what you mean! I often walk around woods, parks, the streets, looking up at trees – wondering how much they have seen; seeing the beauty and wisdom in them . I find them totally fascinating and always have. I was definitely one of those kids that climbed trees – still do infact, whenever I can!!
    Yes, it is about having the feeling of being detached from the world in a way and being close to nature but I think its also the energy and history (and wisdom of course) that emanates from trees. It can be such a powerful thing….

  3. hellyj said, on December 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    actually……..there should be ‘tree therapy’! and I don’t mean tree-hugging per se but I think we should all – young and old – climb trees more whenever we need to work something out or when we need to feel grounded. How much more grounded can one be other than sitting in a tree, feeling part of it and its roots that go way way deep down into the earth?

  4. Katie said, on December 10, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I think thats a great idea 🙂 My son would always go and sit in the tree outside if he wanted to calm down in the summer and I spent many hours up trees with mates and on my own when I was a child.
    There is an energy you feel from them – I used to have favourite trees, and thinking ones too.
    Some look so lonesome and yet so strong too.

    Always reminds me of the magic faraway tree too though 🙂


Leave a Reply

